【Illustrator】 Benjamin Zhang Bin

I guess the unintentional international artist coverage continues!

Anyways, this artist caught me by complete surprise this morning. Turns out that my 11 year-old brother borrowed a copy of Benjamin’s Orange (manga) from the library and I was blown away by the fantastic splash of colour on the cover illustration. I later found out that I had actually see Benjamin’s work before when seinen manga magazine Morning featured his Saviour manga as part of a Chinese artist feature series.

Benjamin Zhang Bin, known usually as Benjamin only, is a Mainland Chinese artist/manhua artist whose works are most widely received in France, where most of his work were first published. He frequently travelled between Chinese cities to find work, and has worked on illustrations for small MMORPGs, some of which are now defunct.

His style is extremely spectacular and I am not kidding when I say that I believe his art is beyond the scale of the anime-style. Everything is realistic (real lips whoo hoo!), and the colouring, while the palette can be unnaturally vibrant at times, is impeccable. The lighting and shading is perpetually spot-on, and constantly makes me think that it is a photograph of sorts. In the interior pages of Orange, he uses mainly a blue palette offset by a little bit of other vibrant shades, and the effect is unique. At first it reminded me of Mirror’s Edge artwork, but in retrospect, Benjamin’s work is beyond Mirror’s Edge in terms of artistic expression and impact.

As well, like Archlich, his defining characteristic is how uninhibited and free the compositions and technique (?) is. His artwork is basically an explosion of well-matched colours and overwhelming beauty. Words fail me.

Blog: http://blog.sina.com.cn/benjamin (in Simplified Chinese)
Profile at Baka-Updates: http://www.mangaupdates.com/authors.html?id=5224
Spotlight at concept central: http://conceptcentral.blogspot.com/2009/02/manuha-madness-artist-profile-benjamin.html
Spotlight at RESH STUDIO: http://resh01.blogspot.com/2007/06/benjamin-zhang-bin-aka-benjamin.html